A Independent Liverpool FC Website

Liverpool Football Club - EPL Player Of The Season Award

Back to  LFC Awards

 Year  Player
 1997-98  Michael Owen
 2013-14  Luis Suarez
 2017-18  Mohamed Salah
 2018-19  Virgil van Dijk

The Premier League Player of the Season is an annual association football award presented to players in England, which recognises the most outstanding player in the Premier League each season.

The recipient is chosen by a panel assembled by the league's sponsors consisting of members of "football's governing bodies, the media and fans", and is announced in the second or third week of May.

For sponsorship purposes, from 1994 to 2001 it was called the Carling Player of the Year; from 2001 to 2004 as the Barclaycard Player of the Year; and from 2004 to 2016 as the Barclays Player of the Season.

Since the 2016–17 season, it is called the EA Sports Player of the Season.