A Independent Liverpool FC Website

Liverpool FCCharity Shield Winners 1990

1990/91 Charity Shield
Saturday 18th August 1990

Venue: Wembley Stadium

Liverpool 1
(John Barnes pen)
Manchester United 1  
(Clayton Blackmore)

(each club held the Shield for 6 months)

Half-time 0-1
Attendance: 66,558
Referee: George Courtney
Kick Off: 15:00

The Charity Shield match was between 1989/90 Football League champions, Liverpool, and 1989/90 FA Cup winners Manchester United.

Liverpool:   B Grobbelaar, G Hysen, D Burrows, B Venison, R Whelan, G Ablett, P Beardsley (sub: R Rosenthal), R Houghton, I Rush, J Barnes, S McMahon. 
Manchester United:  I Sealey, J Irwin, M Donaghy, S Bruce, M Phelan, G Pallister, C Blackmore, P Ince, B McClair, M Hughes, D Wallace (sub: M Robins).